97 days to go: Stockholm marathon motivation

Today I got a taste of how it will be for me in 97 days. Mom and I headed to the city before all the buses in the inner city would be stopped as the marathon would take place in the inner city. Everywhere we went we saw people with sports clothes, many nervous faces! I felt with them and wanted to wish them all a safe and happy experience but I was too shy to go up to people and be like: “good luck! You guys are awesome”.

I needed to take a picture for Monday’s adventure of becoming a Peruvian person. My parents didn’t do this when I was a child because at that point in Time they never thought they would be living there again. They also had more important things going on as securing the Swedish nationality. So in the end, I only ended up with the Swedish passport. A passport I love with my whole heart. It gave my parents a second chance at life, it gave me my open values and calm nature. I’ve realized that having the Peruvian passport won’t change that but it is still with a bit of resentment that I do this process. But I do it for them, because it’s important for my parents.

I ended up looking extremely serious on my picture… it almost looks like I’m biting my cheeks… oh well who cares anyways!

Afterwards we headed back home and actually saw the race from home (they were showing it on the tv). Watching the Stockholm marathon my thoughts and feelings were all over the place. I feel like I will be so stressed about being alone there before the race starts, I’m still not sure I can even manage to run 10KM since I struggle with that. I’m stressed about it! At the same time I long for it! Long for the feeling of running of the streets of my hometown, accomplishing something I’ve poured my heart and soul in! I’m extremely excited… and scared!

Leave a comment